BTEC Level 1/2 First Certificate

Health and Social Care

The BTEC First Certificate in Health and Social Care is designed to equip learners with the knowledge, understanding and skills to kick-start a career in health or social care.

You will learn about human lifespan development, health and social care values and a range of further knowledge and skills to support you to work successfully in a health and social care setting, such as hospitals, community and primary care or supported living projects.

This BTEC First Certificate is a Level 2 qualification, but it is graded at Level 2 Pass, Level 2 Merit, Level 2 Distinction, Level 2 Distinction, Level 1 and Unclassified.


1 & 2


In person

Casestudy overlay

What to expect from Skills Training UK

Energising and well-structured lessons, in small groups.

Individual support and mentoring to help you achieve your goals.

Access to our virtual learning environment for on-demand videos and materials to reinforce learning.

Extra support with English and Maths if you need it.

What does a learner need to do?

Attend regular classes either in-person or online.

Allow time for project work and study each week.

Talk to your trainer for support and guidance if you need more support.

Bring a positive attitude to class and any work experience to make sure you get the most from the opportunity.

Course content

The course comprises of two core units and several optional, specialist units.

The core units cover:

  • Human Lifespan Development
  • Health and Social Care Values

Optional specialist units may include:

  • Effective Communication in Health and Social Care Internal
  • Social Influences on Health and Wellbeing Internal
  • Promoting Health and Wellbeing Internal
  • The Impact of Nutrition on Health and Wellbeing Internal
  • Equality and Diversity in Health and Social Care Internal
  • Individual Rights in Health and Social Care Internal


Learners do not need to achieve any other qualifications before registering for a BTEC First. No prior knowledge, understanding or skills are necessary.


Depending on the result of your assessment you may be awarded a Level 1 or Level 2 qualification.


The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award is a Level 2 qualification but it is graded at Level 2 Pass, Level 2 Merit, Level 2 Distinction, Level 2 Distinction, Level 1 and Unclassified.

Whilst I made a great start in the classroom with face-to-face support, I found that I actually preferred learning from the comfort of my own home. I still received the fantastic one-to-one support from my tutors, just virtually, which meant I could continue to get the support I needed.

Hunter Warnock, BTEC Learner

See what you can achieve.
Request a call back from our friendly team.

    What course(s) are you interested in?

    YesWould you like to receive emails about future courses?

    Contact Us